This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Contact Us | Print Page | Sign In | Join the AAC
Past Special Awards

AAC Special Awards

The AAC will occasionally create awards for individuals who deserve special recognition for their merits. These awards are not given consistently each year, but rather created and awarded whenever the AAC believes necessary.

2015 Special Award

During the 25th Aluminum Anodizing Conference in Montreal, Canada a special award was presented to Richard Mahn for his dedicated service to the Aluminum Anodizers Council.

2014 Special Awards

Two special awards were presented at the 2014 Aluminum Anodizing Conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on Wednesday, September 17, 2014.

The first was a Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Jon Ledin for his outstanding leadership and dedicated service to the Aluminum Anodizers Council.

The second was a Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Fred C. Schaedel for recognition of his efforts and contributions to the aluminum anodizing industry.

2013 Special Awards
Two special awards were presented at the 2013 Aluminum Anodizing Conference in Seattle, Washington on Wednesday, October 2, 2013.

The first was a Lifetime Contribution Award presented to Dr. Arthur Brace for his outstanding contributions to the benefit of the anodizing community worldwide.

The other award was the Academic Outreach Award which was presented to Dr. Digby Macdonald from the University of California at Berkeley. Dr. Macdonald was recognized for his outstanding contributions benefitting the Aluminum Anodizers Council.

2011 Special Awards
A new award was presented on October 5, 2011 in Tempe, Arizona at the Twentieth Annual International Anodizing Conference and Exposition. This was the first time this award has been bestowed on an AAC volunteer.

Donald I. Johnson was presented with the Lifetime Contribution Award for Consistent Contributions to the Good of the Council and to the Benefit of the Anodizing Community.

Chairman of the AAC from 1987-1994, Donald I. Johnson was awarded the Lifetime Contribution Award for his years of service to the AAC both on and off the board. The first Chairman of the council, Johnson oversaw the creation of the AAC and its joining of The Sanford Organization. Since stepping down as chairman, he has continued to make meaningful contributions to the anodizing industry and to AAC.

2009 Special Awards
During the Eighteen Annual International Anodizing Conference and Exposition, two new awards were presented to two outstanding volunteers. This was the first time either of these awards have been bestowed on an AAC volunteer.

Jude M. Runge, PhD was presented with the Council’s Outstanding Achievement Award.

Dr. Runge was recognized for “consistently [delivering] on the promise of excellence,” stated AAC Chairman Terry Snell, Manager—Environmental for Bonnell Aluminum in Newnan, Georgia. “She consistently brings fresh, innovative work that reflects insight and thoroughness, thus raising the bar and elevating the standard by which our conference content is judged…such exemplary contributions deserve special recognition,” Snell explained.

Dr. Runge is a metallurgical consultant and anodizing specialist in her own company, CompCote International in Elmhurst, Illinois. Her experience as a metallurgical engineer and as a metal finishing expert spans more than 30 years. Her analytical experience and expertise encompass a variety of manufacturing processes for all materials, as well as the science and engineering of many aspects of the metal finishing process. Dr. Runge has received both of the Council’s Awards of Excellence—the Donald I. Johnson Award for best presentation in 2002 and the Robert L. Kersman Award for best paper in 2006.

Richard Mahn, Technical Service Manager for Houghton Metal Finishing in Alpharetta, Georgia, was presented with the Steadfast Service Award.

Mahn, an inaugural recipient of the Donald I Johnson Award of Excellence for best presentation in 2001, has been involved in the technical side of the aluminum industry for more than 35 years, including more than 25 years experience in anodizing. He was a long-time member and former chair of AAC’s Technical & Standards Committee, which is now part of the Council’s Education Committee. In addition, Mahn was a member of the faculty teaching at AAC Regional Forums long before they evolved into today's Anodizing Essentials Workshops—and he developed and refined much of the content for those technical educational programs. He also has been instrumental in the development of numerous AAC Technical Bulletins over the years, sharing his expertise and years of wisdom with the entire anodizing community.