AAC Home What is
Technical Details
Search for
Locate Education
& Conferences

AAC 2010 Board Elections Include New Chair, Two New Directors

Back to Newsroom

December 1, 2010

Wauconda, Illinois - The results of the Aluminum Anodizers Council’s (AAC) annual election of Officers and Directors were announced at the Nineteenth Annual International Anodizing Conference and Exposition on October 6, 2010 in Montreal, Quebec. The AAC Board of Directors, now led by a new Chairman, also includes two new Directors. R. Todd Hamilton, Branch Manager for SAF, a metal finisher in Atlanta, Georgia, was elevated to his first one-year term as Chairman of the Aluminum Anodizers Council. Hamilton has been a member of the AAC Board for four years; he was elected as a Firm Director in 2006 and subsequently served a two-year term as Vice Chairman. He manages SAF’s sales efforts of aluminum extrusion, flat sheet, fabrication, and finishing services and has more than 20 years experience in sales, marketing, and management. He has been an active member of the Council and is a member of AAC's Promotion Committee. "I am honored to be elected Chair of the Aluminum Anodizers Council,” said Hamilton. “I enjoy working with such an esteemed group of companies and individuals and I look forward to continuing to serve the Council.”

Jon Ledin, Vice President & General Manager for AaCron, Inc. in Plymouth, Minnesota has been elected to serve as interim At-large Member of the Executive Committee for one year. Terry Snell, Manager, Environmental Division for Bonnell Aluminum Company in Newnan, Georgia, was elected to serve his first one-year term as Past Chairman, the position previously held by Andy Joswiak of Linetec in Wausau, Wisconsin. Joswiak retires from Board service having served six years on the Executive Committee following two years as a Firm Director. Gregory Rajsky, CAE, was re-elected to his non-voting position as President of the Council for his twelfth one-year term.

In addition, two new Directors were elected to the Board. Roger Thomas, Senior Manufacturing Engineer for Alexandria Extrusion Company in Alexandria, Minnesota, was elected to his first two-year term as Firm Director. Thomas joined Alexandria Extrusion Company as a machinist after graduating from Alexandria Technical College with a degree in Tool & Die in 1982. While on the job, he gained experience in quality control, tooling and CNC applications. In 1992, Thomas joined Alexandria Extrusion’s Engineering Department. Thomas’ expertise in project management skills were integral in the design and implementation of manufacturing processes such as converting the company’s extrusion process from precut billets to custom in-house cutting as well as increasing yield and efficiency. He has a great understanding of statistical process control, design of experiments, and preventive actions as tools for continuous improvements. Thomas was heavily involved in designing and documenting procedures for ISO certification. In 2006, Thomas was instrumental in the design and start up of a new state-of-the-art anodizing facility at the company.

“I joined the Council for the great opportunity to be more involved and network with my peers within the association,” said Thomas. “I am very excited and honored to serve on the AAC Board of Directors.”

Paul Laurin, Vice President of Manufacturing for A&D Prevost in Richelieu, Quebec, was elected to serve a one-year term as Firm Director for the second year of a vacant two-year Firm Director position. Laurin joined A&D Prevost in 1990 as Plant Engineer after receiving a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering. He has been involved in all aspects of manufacturing, product design, ISO quality system implementation, as well as design and start up of an architectural anodizing line. “I am proud to join the AAC Board of Directors and have the privilege to work with a group that I’ve been looking up to,” said Laurin. “I look forward to serving the cause that unites us as an industry.”

Re-elections to the Board included Leonid Lerner, President of Sanford Process Corporation in Woonsocket, Rhode Island, who will serve his third two-year term as Firm Director; Thad Piatkowski, President of Houghton Metal Finishing Corporation in Alpharetta, Georgia, who will serve his second term as Supplier Director; and Anne Deacon Juhl of Aluconsult in Noxeo, Denmark, who will serve her second term as Professional Member Director. Continuing on the Board is Frank Munk of Munk GmbH in Hamm, Germany, as Supplier Director.

The Aluminum Anodizers Council is the international trade association of firms engaged in aluminum anodizing and whose mission it is to support its members—and users of anodized aluminum—through education, advocacy, and promotion. For more information, contact the Aluminum Anodizers Council, 1000 N. Rand Road, Suite 214, Wauconda, IL 60084-3102 USA. Telephone 847/526-2010; fax 847/526-3993; mail@anodizing.org; www.anodizing.org.


Images of New Board Members:

(click on the image for a higher resolution version)

R. Todd Hamilton - Chairman
Roger Thomas - Director
Paul Laurin - Director

For more information, contact the Aluminum Anodizers Council:

Nancy Molenda, Communications Manager

1000 N. Rand Road, Suite 214
Wauconda, IL 60084 USA
Telephone 847.526.2010
Fax 847.526.3993

Back to Newsroom